RSS Feed

Muffins and patriotism

Posted on

Project of the day: Happy Declaration signing!

I love muffins. My father makes the beast blueberry muffins ever, and he would always make them for my birthday. I got to college and lasted about a week before I asked him for the recipe started making them myself. Turned out to be a good way to make friends : )

This recipe is the Hannah version. I’ve doubled it from the original because I never make a single batch and added more berries, cuz they’re my favorite part. I also never fill the muffin wells 2/3 of the way as recommended, I fill them up and let them ballon over into beautifully sloppy domes. Of course I never make them quite as good as Daddy, but hey, blueberry muffins are always delicious!

And perfect for any occasion. For example, the anniversary of the declaration of a new nation.

I made them for a party and added cranberries in honor of the occasion; doubly appropriate considering I’m celebrating in New England this year. They even looked firework-y.

I always use frozen blueberries. They give me good results every time, but I’ll warn you- they turn the batter blue. You can use any berry, fresh or frozen, but I’ve been disappointed by all but blueberries (although I must admit, the cranberries came close). And if they’re fresh, what are you doing making muffins? Go bake a pie!

Blueberry Muffins

2 eggs
1 cup milk
1/2  cup oil or softened butter
3 cups flour
1  cup sugar
4 tsp baking powder
1  tsp salt
2-3 cups frozen or fresh blueberries (or any berry, but blueberries are the best!)

Preheat the oven to 350°F.
Whisk together the eggs, oil, and milk in a large bowl.
In another bowl, combine the flour, sugar, baking powder an salt.
Dump the dry ingredients into the wet ingredients and mix until almost combined (still some flour streaks).
Add the berries (don’t bother thawing if frozen) and mix until just incorporated.
Spoon into lined or buttered muffin pans.
Bake for 20 minutes, or until tops are dry, lightly browned, and starting to crack (at high berry content).

Makes 1.5-2 dozen, depending on how big you make your muffins.

Any thoughts?

