RSS Feed

The Cooking Shows of the Internet

Posted on

Project of the day: Create a Food Blog

Like tons of other kids, I loved Saturdays. But not for the cartoons. Don’t get me wrong, there’s nothing quite like a bowl of cinnamon toast crunch and the Ninja Turtles : ) . But my parents are big on PBS, so as soon as Daddy got up we’d switch to This Old House. That was fun too, but my favorite part was always the afternoon cooking shows. Jacques Pepin, Julia Child, America’s Test Kitchen–I admired their techniques, drooled over their food, and occasionally wrote down a simple recipe to mess up the kitchen with later. I still do, whenever I can.

In college I have no TV, nor much time to watch anyway. But I still love cooking, and last summer, living on campus with the cafeteria closed, lead to many a googled recipe. And that is when I discovered food blogs–the perfect substitute for cooking shows! Better even–they fit my crazy schedule, there’s no half-hour limitation, no need to scramble to write down a recipe, and anyone can do it! Not only does this provide a rich variety of recipes, it means my silly dreams of hosting a cooking show can happen without a producer or a nice big kitchen.

And that, friends, is why I am here.

Special thanks to the ninja for convincing me to give it a try.

One response »

  1. Hi, this was a great blog post!! Have you ever tried KrazyGoodFoodTV.com for internet cooking shows? It’s pretty awesome. Their website says their new season starts February 6, 2012, but you can watch programs on their site right now. Pretty cool stuff!!

Any thoughts?

